In 1860 James Donohoe, the son of a Kilmuckridge farmer in Co Wexford, emigrated to Australia. In 1876 he returned to Enniscorthy and took charge of the family grocery and spirit store in Templeshannon.   As a result, the company J Donohoe was born, and the business began to prosper.  By the early 1890s, James had expanded his efforts and entered the wholesale trade market establishing a very successful wine, spirit and grocery enterprise throughout Enniscorthy and the surrounding region.  By 1896, J Donohoe was the largest general merchant in Enniscorthy, with interests in coal, manure, seed, blacksmithing and saddlery in addition to a bottling business and such was its success that it was incorporated as a limited company in that same year.

In 1916, James Donohoe died at the age of 71, but not before his shrewdness and untiring industry had earned him the title ‘The Prince of Merchants' a man blessed with genuine entrepreneurial flair and resilience.

The firm continued to grow from strength to strength and was the first company to forge itself within the motor industry, bringing the first Fords into the country before the start of World War 1 in 1914.  Over the next 80 years the company thrived in the area of motor success and then in 1995, J Donohoe was awarded the BMW franchise at its site in Templeshannon, Enniscorthy.

In 2006, our new modern premises was opened at Quarrypark, Enniscorthy, County Wexford, located on the Dublin Road as you approach Enniscorthy from the north just over an hour from south Dublin. 

Today at J Donohoe, we offer our customers a premier level of service throughout our sales and workshop facility.  However, it’s our staff expertise, friendliness and dedication to the brand over the years that has contributed to the company’s success.

Our company ethos which was handed down by James Donohoe over 140 years ago continues to be delivered to our customers today, and that philosophy is to…

“Always deliver more than expected”

We look forward to welcoming you here.

Margaret Hynes

Head of Business

t: 053 92 42526

e: mhynes@jdonohoebmw.com

Tommy Davitt

Sales Manager

t: 053 92 42526

e: tdavitt@jdonohoebmw.com

Michael O'Brien

Sales Executive

t: 053 92 42526

e: mobrien@jdonohoebmw.com

Barry Kent

Sales Executive

t: 053 92 42526

e: bkent@jdonohoebmw.com

Michael Hudson

Sales Executive

t: 053 92 42526

e: mhudson@jdonohoebmw.com

Jamie Farrell

Sales Executive

t: 053 92 42455

e: jfarrell@jdonohoebmw.ie

Andy Thomas

Business Manager

t: 053 92 31332

e: athomas@jdonohoebmw.com

Emma O'Connell

Sales Admin Manager

t: 053 92 42526

e: eoconnell@jdonohoebmw.com

Dermot Brennan

Aftersales Manager

t: 053 92 42526

e: dbrennan@jdonohoebmw.com

Tom Quigley

Workshop Controller

t: 053 92 42526

e: tquigley@jdonohoebmw.com

Brian Sinnott

Service Advisor

t: 053 92 42453

e: bsinnott@jdonohoebmw.com

Graham Whitmore

Service Advisor

t: 053 92 42459

e: gwhitmore@jdonohoebmw.com 

Brendan Doyle

Warranty Administrator

t: 053 92 42526

e: bdoyle@jdonohoebmw.com

Shane Reid

Parts Advisor

t: 053 92 42526

e: sreid@jdonohoebmw.com

Sales

Monday - Friday Saturday Sunday
9am - 5.30pm 10am - 4pm Closed

Service

Monday - Friday Saturday Sunday
8.30am - 1.00pm
2.00pm - 5.30pm
Closed Closed